AwardsLogoThe Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada is the only national competition for book design in the country.

2014 Award Winners Announced

This year’s judges, Rod McDonald, Robin Mitchell-Cranfield, and Roberto Dosil, selected 31 winning titles from 201 entries, from 9 provinces and 79 publishers. This year’s book design winners are:


First prize: NAOMI MACDOUGALL | designer of Murilla Gorilla and the Hammock Problem, by Jennifer Lloyd (Simply Read Books);

Second prize: JULIE MORSTAD & CS RICHARDSON | designers of Julia, Child, by Kyo Maclear (Tundra Books);

Third prize: ELISA GUTIÉRREZ | designer of Dolphin SOS, by Roy & Slavia Miki (Tradewind Books);

Honourable mentions:
BROOKE KERRIGAN | designer of Fishermen Through & Through, by Colleen Sydor (Red Deer Press),
SARA GILLINGHAM | designer of The Goodnight Book, by Lori Joy Smith (Simply Read Books).


First prize: GEORGE WALKER | designer of The Wordless Leonard Cohen Songbook: A Biography in 80 Wood Engravings, by George Walker (George Walker Books & Art);

Second prize: WILLIAM RUETER | designer of Felicity: Selected Poems, by Thomas Traherne (The Aliquando Press);

Third prize: GUILLAUME LÉPINE | designer of La lecture des signes abstraits: une exploration visuelle, by Joséane Beaulieu-April (La chose imprimée);

Honourable mention: ALAN STEIN | designer of Viewfinder , by Michael Crummey (The Church Street Press)


First prize: MARK TIMMINGS | designer of The West Coast Modern House: Vancouver Residential Architecture, edited by Greg Bellerby (Figure 1 Publishing & Charles H. Scott Gallery);

Honourable mentions:
PETER COCKING | designer of Susan Point: Works on Paper, by Dale Croes, Susan Point & Gary Wyatt (Figure 1 Publishing);
ANSEL SCHMIDT & EMMA NOVOTNY | designers of Shift: Exchanges, by various authors (OCAD U Student Press).


First prize: STUDIO FEED | designers of Voir venir la patience, by Louise Warren (les éditions du passage);

Second prize: ANDREW STEEVES | designer of Circa Nineteen Hundred and Grief, by Tim Bowling (Gaspereau Press Printers & Publishers);

Honourable mentions: ANDREW STEEVES | designer of Peeling Rambutan, by Gillian Sze, and of Generations Re-merging, by Shalan Joudry (Gaspereau Press Printers & Publishers).


First prize: ROB KOVITZ | designer of According to Plan, by Rob Kovitz (Treyf Books);

Second prize: CS RICHARDSON | designer of Remembrance: A Story, by Alistair MacLeod (McClelland & Stewart);

Third prize: KELLY HILL | designer of Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery (Tundra Books);

Honourable mention: CS RICHARDSON | designer of All the Broken Things, by Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer (Random House Canada),


First prize: ANDREW STEEVES | designer of Merging: Contemplations on Farming & Ecology from Horseback, by Soren Bondrup-Nielsen (Gaspereau Press Printers & Publishers);

Second prize: ANDREW STEEVES | designer of Smoke Proofs: Essays on Literary Publishing, Printing and Typography, by Andrew Steeves (Gaspereau Press Printers & Publishers);

Third prize: DAVID GEE & RACHEL IRONSTONE | designers of The Lost 10 Point Night: Searching for My Hockey Hero… Jim Harrison, by David Ward (ECW Press);

Honourable mention: JESSICA SULLIVAN | designer of Arthur Erickson: An Architect’s Life by David Stouck (Douglas & McIntyre).


First prize (tie): SUSAN COLBERG | designer of Le corps en question(s) | The Body in Question(s), edited by Cristian Berco, Sean Caulfield & Isabelle van Grimde (University of Alberta & Van Grimde Corps Secrets).

First prize (tie): E.A. (ZAB) HOBART | designer of The Inkiest Black, by Barbara Balfour (Barbara Balfour).

Second prize: LÉA BERGER (DFI GRAPHIK) | designer of La maison, la ville et les gens: le phénomène Bidonville by Jean-Nicolas Orhon & Nicolas Reeves (les éditions du passage);

Third prize: ALAN BROWNOFF | designer of Conrad Kain: Letters from a Wandering Mountain Guide 1906-1933, by Conrad Kain, edited by Zac Robinson (The University of Alberta Press).


First prize: PETER COCKING | designer of The Dirty Apron Cookbook, by David Robertson (Figure 1 Publishing);

Second Prize: JESSICA SULLIVAN | designer of Craft Beer Revolution: The Insider’s Guide to B.C. Breweries, by Joe Wiebe (Douglas & McIntyre);

Third Prize: JESSICA SULLIVAN | designer of Toronto Cooks: 100 Signature Recipes from the City’s Best Restaurants, by Amy Rosen (Figure 1 Publishing);

Check the website for party bus in los angeles reservation . Thermage