The winners of the Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada 2014

The Alcuin Society is proud to present the winners of the Alcuin Society Awards 2014. Out of the 232 books submitted, the three judges (Jessica Sullivan, Susan Colberg and Seth) selected 37 winners in eight categories. Mention must be made of Simply Read Books swiping away all the prizes in Children’s category, and the success of Naomi Macdougall, who distinguished herself in the Reference category, but not only. Congratulations to all the winners and a big thank-you to our members and supporters.

On May 1, we will also announce this year’s recipient of the Robert R. Reid Award and Medal, for lifetime achievement in book arts in Canada. The announcement will be made on the new Alcuin Society website, to be launched shortly after Easter.

This year’s judges, Susan Colberg, Seth, and Jessica Sullivan, selected 37 winning titles from 232 entries, from 8 provinces and 107 publishers. This year’s book design winners are:


First prize: ROBIN MITCHELL CRANFIELD | designer of How To, by Julie Morstad (Simply Read Books);

Second prize: NAOMI MACDOUGALL | designer of Murilla Gorilla, Jungle Detective, by Jennifer Lloyd (Simply Read Books);

Third prize (tie): ROBIN MITCHELL CRANFIELD | designer of Wild Berries, by Julie Flett (Simply Read Books);

Third prize (tie): WINNIE MA | designer of Circles of Round, by Signe Sturup (Simply Read Books);

Honourable mentions:
TERESA BUBELA & JULIE FLETT | designers of Little You, by Richard Van Camp (Orca Book Publishers),
MICHAEL SOLOMON | designer of Out the Window, by Cybèle Young (Groundwood Books).


First prize: MICHAEL TOROSIAN | designer of Black Star, by Michael Torosian & Peter Higdon (Lumiere Press);

Second prize (tie): WILLIAM RUETER | designer of Pressing Matters, by Leonard F. Bahr, Paul Hayden Duensing, Rollin Milroy, & William Rueter (The Aliquando Press);

Second prize (tie): JUDITH POIRIER | designer of Résidus visuels, by Johanne Jarry (La chose imprimée);

Third prize (tie): ANTONIO LENNERT & SYMON OLIVER | designers of Shift: Processes, by various authors (OCAD U Student Press);

Third prize (tie): JASON DEWINETZ | designer of Tin Roof, by Michael Ondaatje (Greenboathouse Press);

Honourable mention: ROBERT MAJZELS | designer of The 85 Project , by Claire Huot & Robert Majzels (Moveable Inc.)


First prize: JEFF KHONSARY | designer of More Than Two (Let It Make Itself), by Micah Lexier (Power Plant);

Second prize: LAUREN WICKWARE | designer of Mélanie Rocan: Souvenir involontaire, by Josée Drouin-Brisebois (Doris McCarthy Gallery, University of Toronto (Scarborough));

Honourable mention: NICOLE LAFOND | designer of Irene F. Whittome: Room 901, by Marie J. Jean, Eve-Lyne Beaudry & Vincent Bonin (Les éditions du passage).


First prize: ANDREW STEEVES | designer of The Deer Yard, by Allan Cooper & Harry Thurston (Gaspereau Press Printers & Publishers);

Second prize: JEFF KHONSARY | designer of With A Bao A Qu: Reading When Attitudes Become Form, by Maria Fusco (New Documents);

Third prize: ANDREW STEEVES | designer of Ocean, by Sue Goyette (Gaspereau Press Printers & Publishers).


First prize: CATHERINE D’AMOURS | designer of Série Nova: 10 novellas, by various authors (Le Quartanier);

Second prize: ANDREW STEEVES | designer of Petitot, by Susan Haley (Gaspereau Press Printers & Publishers);

Third prize (tie): RAPHAËL DAUDELIN | designer of Wigrum, by Daniel Canty (Talonbooks);

Third prize (tie): ANDREW STEEVES | designer of Someone Somewhere, by Dana Mills (Gaspereau Press Printers & Publishers);

Honourable mentions:
NATALIE OLSEN | designer of The Dilettantes, by Michael Hingston (Freehand Books),
TERRI NIMMO | designer of The Son of a Certain Woman, by Wayne Johnston (Knopf Canada).


First prize: ANDREW STEEVES | designer of Jeremiah Bancroft at Fort Beauséjour & Grand-Pré, by Jonathan Fowler & Earle Lockerby (Gaspereau Press Printers & Publishers);

Second prize: TERRI NIMMO | designer of The Once and Future World, by J.B. MacKinnon (Random House Canada);

Third prize (tie): ALAN BROWNOFF | designer of Métis in Canada, edited by Christopher Adams, Gregg Dahl & Ian Peach (The University of Alberta Press);

Third prize (tie): DAVID DRUMMOND & ROBERT MACKIE | designers of The Writing Life: Journals, 1975-2005, by George Fetherling (McGill-Queen’s University Press);

Honourable mention: KATE HARGREAVES | designer of The Pope’s Bookbinder by David Mason (Biblioasis).


First prize: AARON POLLOCK, EVAN GOMES & ROBYN ARNASON | designers of Warehouse Journal vol. 22, by Aaron Pollock, Evan Gomes & Robyn Arnason (The Warehouse Journal, The University of Manitoba).

Second prize: MARVIN HARDER & FRANÇOIS MARTIN | designers of Arvik! In Pursuit of the Bowhead Whale, edited by Robert Fréchette (Publications Nunavik);

Third prize: CLINT HUTZULAK | designer of The Seghers Collection: Old Books for a New World, by Hélène Cazes (University of Victoria Libraries).


First prize: NAOMI MACDOUGALL & ANDREW BAGATELLA | designers of Pimentos & Piri Piri: Portuguese Comfort Cooking, by Carla Azevedo (Whitecap Books);

Second Prize: NAOMI MACDOUGALL | designer of Exploring Vancouver: the Architectural Guide, by Harold Kalman & Robin Ward (Douglas & McIntyre);

Third Prize: NAOMI MACDOUGALL | designer of East Meets West, by Stephanie Yuen (Douglas & McIntyre);

Honourable mentions:
KELLY HILL | designer of Butter Baked Goods, by Rosie Daykin (Appetite, by Random House),
MARVIN HARDER | designer of The Peace Athabaska Delta, by Kevin P. Timoney (The University of Alberta Press).