2016 winners

AwardsLogoThe Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada is the only national competition for book design in the country.

2016 Award Winners Announced

The catalogue of 2016 winners is available here.

This year’s judges, Judith Poirier, Matt Warburton, and Robin Mitchell Cranfield, selected 35 winning titles from 211 entries, from 9 provinces and 93 publishers. This year’s book design winners are:


First prize (tie): ESMÉ SHAPIRO & JENNIFER LUM | designer of Ooko, by Esmé Shapiro (Tundra Books);

First prize (tie): SARA GILLINGHAM | designer of Today, by Julie Morstad (Simply Read Books);

Second prize: BENOIT TARDIF | designer of Metropolis, by Benoit Tardif (Kids Can Press);

Third prize: FRANK VIVA | designer of Sea Change, by Frank Viva (Tundra Books).

Honourable Mention: ROBYN WOODCOCK (Relish New Brand Experience) | designer of When We Were Alone, by David Alexander Robertson (HighWater Press).


First prize: CHESTER BROWN | designer of Mary Wept Over the Feet of Jesus, by Chester Brown (Drawn & Quarterly);

Second prize: MICHAEL DEFORGE | designer of Big Kids, by Michael DeForge (Drawn & Quarterly);

Third prize: CATHERINE LEPAGE | designer of Zoothérapie, by Catherine Lepage (Somme toute).

Honourable Mention: HENRIETTE VALIUM | designer of The Palace of Champions, by Henriette Valium. Conundrum Press.


First prize: STUDIO FEED | designers of Post-Punk Art Now, by Sébastien Pesot (Pesot-organisme de creation);

Second prize: MARLENE MACCALLUM | designer of Tea Ceremonies, by Matthew Hollett (Marlene MacCallum);

Third prize: JASON DEWINETZ | designer of Lead, Tin & Antimony: a Specimen of Types Held in Cases or Cast Fresh at the Greenboathouse Press, by Jason Dewinetz (Greenboathouse Press).

Honourable Mention: NATALIE OLSEN | designer of The 2016 Short Story Advent Calendar, edited by Michael Hingston (Hingston & Olsen Publishing).


First prize: STUDIO FEED | designers of Scandale! Le Montréal illicite 1940-1960, by Maryse Bédard … [et al.] (Éditions Cardinal);

Second prize: JONAH SAMSON & JESSICA SULLIVAN | designer of Yes Yes We’re Magicians, by Jonah Samson (Figure 1 Publishing & Presentation House Gallery);

Third prize: LAUREN WICKWARE | designer of Lost Bodies: Brendan Fernandes (Agnes Etherington Art Centre at Queen’s).

Honourable Mention: DEREK BARNETT | designer of MashUp: The Birth of Modern Culture, edited by Daina Augaitis, Bruce Grenville & Stephanie Rebick (Vancouver Art Gallery & Black Dog Publishing).


First prize: NATALIE OLSEN | designer of You Can’t Bury Them All, by Patrick Woodcock (ECW Press);

Second prize: TATJANA PETKOVIC | designer of You Were Here, by André Narbonne (Flat Singles Press);

Third prize (tie): NATALIE OLSEN | designer of On Not Losing My Father’s Ashes in the Flood, by Richard Harrison (Wolsak and Wynn);

Third prize (tie): STUDIO FEED | designers of Pro pelle cutem (peau pour peau): poésie, by Nicolas Lauzon (les editions du passage).

Honourable Mention: TIM INKSTER | designer of The Essential D.G. Jones, edited by Jim Johnstone (The Porcupine’s Quill).


First prize: BETH OBERHOLTZER (Oberholtzer Design Inc.) | designer of The. Hope., by Craig Francis Power (Pedlar Press);

Second prize: KATE HARGREAVES | designer of Lost Animal Club: Stories, by Kevin A. Couture (NeWest Press);

Third prize: NATHALIE CARON | designer of À l’abri des hommes et des choses, by Stéphanie Boulay (Québec Amerique).


First prize: MARVIN HARDER | designer of Relations on Ungava Bay: An Illustrated History of Inuit, Naskapi and Eurocanadian Interaction, 1800-1970, by Toby Morantz (Avataq Cultural Institute);

Second prize: ALENA RIEGER & ALLY PEREIRA-EDWARDS | designers of Warehouse Journal, vol. 25, edited by Alena Rieger & Ally Pereira-Edwards (University of Manitoba, Faculty of Architecture);

Third prize: LÉA BERGER (DFI Graphik) | designer of Carnets de Montréal, by Catherine Pont-Humbert (les editions du passage).

Honourable Mention: ROBERT LEPAGE, STEVE BLANCHET & NATHALIE CARON | designers of 887, by Robert Lepage (Québec Amerique).


First prize: LARA MINJA | designer of Imagining Uplands: John Olmsted’s Masterpiece of Residential Design, by Larry McCann (Brighton Press);

Second prize: JULIE ESPINASSE (Atelier Mille Mille) | designer of Mappemonde: la littérature en temps et lieux, by Daniel Canty (Les Éditions du Noroît).

Honourable Mention: CS RICHARDSON | designer of The Idea of Canada: Letters to a Nation, by David Johnston (Signal/McClelland & Stewart).


First prize: JESSICA SULLIVAN | designer of Araxi: Roots to Shoots: Farm Fresh Recipes, by James Walt (Figure 1 Publishing);

Second prize: COMPAGNIE ET CIE | designers of Un tour du monde en 75 cocktails, by Romain Cavelier (Guy Saint-Jean Éditeur);

Third prize: JESSICA SULLIVAN | designer of Ottawa Cooks: Signature Recipes from the Finest Chefs of Canada’s Capital Region, by Anne DesBrisay (Figure 1 Publishing).